[This poem is dedicated to my aai(mother) for holding on to me even when all I did was push her away. I had a hard time growing up and I am glad you were by my side. I may not say it so often but sorry and thank you for being there for me. love you.]

I have too many faults, aai.

My qualities seem less and bare.

I swear to you I try hard, aai.

But my good deeds are often rare.

 

I want to make you proud, aai.

But sometimes it just doesn’t work.

I may be naïve and careless, aai.

But I have my cons and perks.

 

I know I make you upset, aai.

Do you ever cry because of me?

Maybe I am just not enough, aai.

But I will be as good as I can be.

 

I know I have been delinquent, aai.

I am holding on to a short rope.

But spare me just this once, aai.

For I am just trying to cope.

By: Vaishnavi A. Bendre